Hifidelio-User.de

Das (inoffizielle!) Forum für Hifidelio-User
Aktuelle Zeit: 20.10.2018 10:12

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde [ Sommerzeit ]




Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 13 Beiträge ] 
Autor Nachricht
BeitragVerfasst: 31.12.2007 16:51 
Offline

Registriert: 09.08.2006 21:38
Beiträge: 97
Wohnort: bei Alzey
Hello All,

I just tried to install a Seagate Barracuda harddisc (400GB Ultra ATA). Unfortunately, the HF system does not detect the disc at all. I checked the jumper settings and cable connections a thousand times, and tried the hdreset tool. Nothing works. The disc does not spin up with power on in the HF. I know the disc is ok because it actually works fine in my freecom mediaplayer. I tried different partitions, no partitions, linux tools, windows tools, seagate tools...nothing.

Any ideas?

_________________
Cheers
Mike

HifidelioPro 2.3.28, 500GB 2.5"


Zuletzt geändert von Mike am 01.01.2008 11:18, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.

Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 31.12.2007 17:52 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 21.07.2006 11:32
Beiträge: 869
Wohnort: 49°26'51.46"N - 8°59'49.06"E
Hi

Did the old drive still works?

When you hear nothing by switch on the power, i think hat the drive gets no power.
Check the powercable.
Check the fuses.
The drive must be jumpered as master.
Have you tested the Hdreset CD?

Bye

_________________
Hifidelio Pro 500GB
JBL DSC1000
http://www.gugau.net/html/hifidelio_helper.html
http://www.gugau.net/Beta/HF_Tuner.exe
Wer Rechtschreibfehler findet darf sie ruhig behalten, ich brauche sie nicht mehr, ich habe noch genug davon.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 31.12.2007 18:04 
Offline

Registriert: 09.08.2006 21:38
Beiträge: 97
Wohnort: bei Alzey
Elektrolurch hat geschrieben:
Hi

Did the old drive still works?

When you hear nothing by switch on the power, i think hat the drive gets no power.
Check the powercable.
Check the fuses.
The drive must be jumpered as master.
Have you tested the Hdreset CD?

Bye


The drive gets power, the cables are ok, I did use the hdreset tool and it is jumpered as master. I even tried the cable that came with the new harddisc.

The hd makes some sort of noise as if it wants to start but can't. Putting back in the original 160GB harddisc everything works fine as usual.

Using the recovery disc with the new 400GB hd I get the error message that no harddisc was found.

Is it possible, that the HF can't handle Ultra ATA standard?

_________________
Cheers
Mike

HifidelioPro 2.3.28, 500GB 2.5"


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 31.12.2007 19:08 
Offline
Moderator
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 29.01.2005 00:43
Beiträge: 1755
Wohnort: CH, Bern
I guess that this HD consumes to much power for the spin-up...
There where some reports in the past that not all HDs are working. Most of the time it where big+fast HDs which need more power.
Regards, Bergi

_________________
Was war ST-64 :?:


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 31.12.2007 19:28 
Offline
Moderator

Registriert: 27.01.2005 21:11
Beiträge: 2436
If you want to know if it's a power-problem, put the drive in an external hdd-enclosure, but connect only power. Connect the ide-cable of the to the hifidelio to the hdd, switch hdd and hifidelio on and see what happens.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: 01.01.2008 04:14 
Offline

Registriert: 06.11.2007 14:53
Beiträge: 76
Mike hat geschrieben:
Hello All,

I just tried to install a Seagate Barracuda harddisc (400GB Ultra ATA). Unfortunately, the HF system does not detect the disc at all. I checked the jumper settings and cable connections a thousand times, and tried the hdreset tool. Nothing works. The disc does not spin up with power on in the HF. I know the disc is ok because it actually works fine in my freecom mediaplayer. I tried different partitions, no partitions, linux tools, windows tools, seagate tools...nothing.

Any ideas?


Hello,

I installed a Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 Ultra ATA 500GB disk in my HF about 10 days ago and it works flawlessly. I have been using my HF every day since the modification without any problem - I even ran disk-intensive operations like volume normalization on my 300 albums (85 GB of FLAC files) - all ran OK.
It seems strange to me that a 500GB disk works, but the 400 GB disk from the same manufacturer does not work... :(


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
BeitragVerfasst: 01.01.2008 10:11 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 23.10.2005 13:00
Beiträge: 79
Wohnort: Belgium
Zitat:
It seems strange to me that a 500GB disk works, but the 400 GB disk from the same manufacturer does not work... :(


Is the 400GB version from the same model ?

It's a combination of startup power consumption of the hard disk and how much reserve the power supply of the HF has.

_________________
CU, Jurgen


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 01.01.2008 11:17 
Offline

Registriert: 09.08.2006 21:38
Beiträge: 97
Wohnort: bei Alzey
Happy New Year to everybody, and thanks for your thoughts on the topic.

Following gigis idea with the seperate power supply I hooked the harddisc up again and it actually worked.
So, good thing you solved the problem and I can go back to normal with the old 160GB hd :-)
and bad thing I'm stuck with that disc and buying a new one remains a lottery game to some extend :-(

Here is the full spec for the benefit of everybody. Maybe someone can put it in the appropriate wiki section with the note: don't buy!

3.5" Seagate Barracuda (ST3400633A)
7200.9 / 400GB / Ultra ATA/100
+5V/+12V 0.46A/0.56A

Product of China (I should have known better...)

_________________
Cheers
Mike

HifidelioPro 2.3.28, 500GB 2.5"


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 01.01.2008 11:31 
Offline
Moderator
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 29.01.2005 00:43
Beiträge: 1755
Wohnort: CH, Bern
Mike hat geschrieben:
Here is the full spec for the benefit of everybody. Maybe someone can put it in the appropriate wiki section with the note: don't buy

done ;-)
Regards, Bergi

_________________
Was war ST-64 :?:


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 13.04.2008 23:49 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 12.07.2005 09:47
Beiträge: 88
Wohnort: The Netherlands
All,

I've just experienced the same when I upgraded the Hifidelio from my Samsung 250GB 5400rpm to a 500GB 7200rpm.

It is indeed power related, the 12V supply seems to dip too much on the spinups.

I could easily fix it though;
I squeezed in a capacitor of 470uF/25V.

The legs are tight enough inside the connector (where the wires are crimped in) so I even decided not to solder them.

If anyone needs a picture, let me know and I'll post it.


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 17.04.2008 15:33 
Offline

Registriert: 09.08.2006 21:38
Beiträge: 97
Wohnort: bei Alzey
I would be interested in a picture or a more detailed hint where exactly to squeeze in the capacitor...

_________________
Cheers
Mike

HifidelioPro 2.3.28, 500GB 2.5"


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 22.04.2008 00:05 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 12.07.2005 09:47
Beiträge: 88
Wohnort: The Netherlands
See next message


Zuletzt geändert von rbroer am 20.05.2008 09:34, insgesamt 1-mal geändert.

Nach oben
 Profil  
 
 Betreff des Beitrags:
BeitragVerfasst: 19.05.2008 16:01 
Offline
Benutzeravatar

Registriert: 12.07.2005 09:47
Beiträge: 88
Wohnort: The Netherlands
This should work:

http://www.mijnalbum.nl/Album=GNZUGAQS

Bild


Nach oben
 Profil  
 
Beiträge der letzten Zeit anzeigen:  Sortiere nach  
Ein neues Thema erstellen Auf das Thema antworten  [ 13 Beiträge ] 

Alle Zeiten sind UTC + 1 Stunde [ Sommerzeit ]


Wer ist online?

Mitglieder in diesem Forum: Bing [Bot] und 0 Gäste


Du darfst keine neuen Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst keine Antworten zu Themen in diesem Forum erstellen.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht ändern.
Du darfst deine Beiträge in diesem Forum nicht löschen.

Suche nach:
Gehe zu:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
Deutsche Übersetzung durch phpBB.de